Local Cricket Tales: Running Out The Non-Striker

Running out the non-striker is something that you rarely see in a game of cricket, which I was fortunate enough to at the second Melbourne Derby during the 2014-15 Big Bash League.

So, anyway, I was playing in my local cricket league, and I saw the batsman out of his crease as I went in to bowl. I bowled the ball, and then closely watched him for the next. Again, he left the crease.

And then, on the third ball of the over, as I went in to bowl, I tossed the ball backwards into the stumps and yelled, “HOWZAAAAAAAAAAAAAT?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!”

And…

…none of my teammates backed me up.

It turns out, in a rule that, apparently, everyone but me was aware of, that you got one warning against being dismissed like that. I was a bit annoyed, but I dealt with it.

Then, as the over finished, I heard the umpire say to the other one, “Scared the crap out of me, that did!”

What are your local cricket tales? Share them in the comments.

Leave a Reply

