The Ashes Are Here!

It’s like the night before Christmas.

As I write this, there are ten hours and eighteen minutes until Australia does battle with England for the Ashes.

And I feel like this:

  
I’ve been preparing for this over the past month.

I’ve practiced staying up late so I don’t miss much.

I’ve made some scorecards to remedy the disappointing lack of an ABC Cricket Book.

I’ve made significant gains on my number of Twitter followers so I have people to read my stuff on it.

Oh my god this is so exciting!

This is going to be the third Ashes series I’ve been following closely.

Unsurprisingly, my first cricket memory is of the Ashes.

It was in the 2010 Boxing Day Test.

I was watching at my grandparent’s house, and Alastair Cook has charged halfway down the pitch and whacked a boundary.

I didn’t realise you could do that.

Two and a half years later, I fell asleep listening on ABC Grandstand.

I woke up at 2am and Chris Rogers was on 92.

I got to hear him hit a six for his century.

In November 2013, we were driving into Melbourne for the Myer Christmas windows.

I was listening to the cricket in the back of the car.

England lost 6-9, and I could hardly contain myself.

There’s no denying it, the Ashes are special.

Really special.

GO AUSTRALIA!

  

Leave a Reply

