aside Quick A-League Stat

Sydney is only the third team in A-League history to go four games without conceding a goal from the start of the season.

The previous team to do it, Brisbane Roar, lasted until their fifth game of the 2010-11 season, before Tom Pondeljak scored in the 51st minute for Melbourne Victory.

And the record holders, the Central Coast Mariners, went five games into 2007-08 without conceding a goal. A Bruce Djite goal in the 19th minute of round six ended that streak.

Longest time at the start of a season to not concede a goal

  1. 469 minutes, Central Coast Mariners, 2007-08
  2. 411 minutes, Brisbane Roar, 2010-11
  3. 360 minutes+, Sydney FC, 2015-16

And while we’re at it, Central Coast also have the longest time without scoring record. It took until the 372nd minute of their 2006-07 campaign for them to score. Wellington was still at least a half off.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s